Glasgow 2022 election: All candidates running to represent Greater Pollok

With the resignation of the two SNP councilors, there will be new faces representing Greater Pollok after the May 5 election.

David McDonald, the former deputy leader of the council, and Rhiannon Spear are not seeking re-election and have been replaced by Roza Salih, a Kurdish refugee and one of the Glasgow girls who campaigned to stop the raids at the Dawn and Child Detention, and Wullie Graham.

They hope to represent the area of ​​Glasgow with the largest population, which includes most of Pollok, Priesthill, Darnley, Hurlet, Nitshill, Parkhouse and the southern part of Crookston.

READ MORE: Glasgow election 2022: Govan ward to elect councilors ahead of major transformation

Grand Pollok has been at the center of a municipal program to bring empty houses back into use. Figures show that expropriation orders have been pursued 14 times in the region over the past three years.

The council also agreed funding to help the South West Arts & Music Project (SWAMP), which set up the G53 Together community helpline during the pandemic, convert a former housing office on Brockburn Road into a hub for local groups and social enterprises.

Trash collection, potholes and delivery of local facilities will all be pressing issues for voters when they go to the polls on Thursday.

2017 results

In the last elections, two SNP councilors and two Labor councilors were elected in Greater Pollok. David McDonald had the highest percentage of first preference votes (31%), followed by Labour’s Saqib Ahmed, who had 26%. Rhiannon Spear, SNP, and Rashid Hussain, Labor, were the other two councilors elected to represent the community. The turnout was 36.5%, with 8,520 valid votes.

2022 candidates

The two SNP councilors resigned before the elections and are replaced by Roza Salih and Wullie Graham. Ahmed and Hussain are standing to represent Labor on the council again while the Conservatives have nominated Matt Ventisei.

Christopher Ho, a GP, who stood for the party in Baillieston’s by-election in March last year, is the UKIP candidate while Tahir Jameel, who was the Liberal Democrat candidate for Eastwood in Scottish Government elections, is now standing for Alba. The Greens have chosen Chris McFadyen, Awais Qureshi is the Liberal Democrat option, Eric Stevenson represents the Scottish Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition and Paul Laird represents the Scottish Family Party.


Saqib Ahmed (Labour)

William Graham (SNP)

Christopher Ho (UKIP)

Rashid Hussain (Labour)

Tahir Jamil (Alba)

Paul Laird (Scottish Family Party)

Chris McFadyen (Greens)

Awais Qureshi (Liberal Democrats)

Roza Saleh (SNP)

Eric Stevenson (STUC)

Matt Ventisei (curator)

Sign up for Glasgow Live newsletters for more headlines straight to your inbox

Laura J. Boyer